Scroll saw recommendation

Kathe

Hi, 

can someone recommend a scroll saw? I'd like to do intricate cuts. Would I need a saw that accepts jewelers blades? I've not used a scroll saw before. Thanks! 

Hi, Kathe, I would recommend a Hegner variable speed scroll saw, made in Germany. They are not cheap, but well built and worth every penny over the long haul. I have been using mine for over 25 years. gail

I have owned both the Hegner and Excalibur saws. I prefer the Excalibur for several reasons; the head tilts instead of the table making cuts other than 90 degrees easier, and no tools required for blade changes. The Excalibur is no longer being manufactured but Seyco (seyco.com) is now producing a similar saw of its own design incorporating all the functions of the Excalibur. I am not affiliated with Seyco.

Cheers, Guy

What are you cutting out?  Hegner scroll saws are a little expensive for my taste... at this rate for Amazon's retail price of a Hegner, I would spend the top of the line money on a hegner on a fully loaded mill.  if you are selling, and pay US taxes,  and then can write off your equipment cost, well that is a different story.  Now if found one at auction or craigs list I would consider upgrading...

I am happy with our full size band saw when I need power and my jewelers saw when I need intricate small cuts.  I am amazed at the precision and accuracy I am able to achieve with a jewelers saw.   Yes, it is most likely that a scroll saw will require blades that take a tiny tab at the top and bottom and these are different from flat jewelers saw's blades. Geoff Wonnacott introduced me to the jewelers saw and my appreciation for such a simple tool increased about 300% in a two day class as I was amazed at what could be accomplished without electricity.