Greetings from Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Huibrecht

Hello Everybody! Welcome from windswept Holland.

My name is Huibrecht. I am 38 years old and live in Rotterdam. I have studied history and law. And I am new to this wonderfully intricate hobby.

I have always admired quality miniatures but until recently I never thought I would attempt to make any of them myself. I do enjoy, apart fro writing fiction in my spare time, making pencil drawings of fictitious buildings as a hobby. From a small pavilions and mausoleums up to two cathedrals and some trainstations. My designs are not professional or academic but I like to give them realistic proportions and stay true to a specific historical architectural (neo)style. Although mixing styles into a personal eclecticism Is also very enjoyable. :-)

But since I have seen several wonderful miniatures and some exquisite 17th and 18th century dolls' houses/ babycabinets, I want to try my hand in creating miniature furniture myself. I hope to share the first succesfull results soon.

Huibrecht.

Hey Huibrecht!  Welcome to the forum - look forward to seeing your work!!

Hello Huibrecht!    Approx 9.25 hours from you, there is a similar Miniature learning event, July 10-14, 2017 in Denmark.  

http://www.miniatureitune.com/danish/

If you haven't planned your vacation, perhaps you may want to look at this learning experience to jump start miniature making efforts.  

The forum has been quiet, but this week miniaturists from all over the globe are atttending Guild School in Castine, Maine, USA.  I have not attended the Miniatures in Tune event, but if I understand correctly, the event is similar to our Guild School in the States.