One of the best engraved miniature clock faces I have seen by Usher?

Wm. R. Robertson

From time to time I do repairs on fine miniatures for collectors and museums. Often these pieces have to be taken apart which gives me a knowledge of how different artists made things. I have been doing this for over 35 years and have about every well known named artists work in my shop and apart.

But here is something outstanding and I don't know the story behind it. If anyone knows anything about these guys I would love to know.

Interesting is the clock face was done by another artist other than who made the case… the dial is marked " Usher '81" on the top….... or based on the date was it a replacement?

DSCN1457_zps22334b75.jpg

DSCN1456_zpsa5fae330.jpg

DSCN1463_zps809f7624.jpg

It is signed " Fecit et sculpsit Fred Widmer 2000- '04"

There is also some very faint, almost burnished out writing "AND REF?????HING by FW, Fred Widmer 2002"

This face is hand engraved but does not look the work of a professional engraver, it is very good but his cutting strokes are not the norm. Also his name is scribed in with multiple lines, again not the way an engraver would do it. As it has a quartz movement I'll have that looked at to see if it is dateable.

The clock case appears to the work of a different artist named Usher ……..

DSCN1464_zps10f120bb.jpg

And signed "Littlestuff by Usher '81"

DSCN1468_zps908246ee.jpg

So does anyone know anything about this?

Thanks

• Like 1

Good Morning, 

David Frederick Usher was my grandfather. He would have made this clock in Torrington, CT in 1981. From what I can tell, both the clock face and the body are his work; typically he produced the entire item, sometimes even reproducing reverse paintings in miniature. The "df USHER '81" on the face is in his handwriting and the body is certainly his. 

http://www.firefly.us/files/david-usher-littlestuff.jpg