Introducing myself

Kgstakes

Hi everyone

i first started building miniatures back in high school and it was building a model railroad.  Then as my skills progressed I built a chuckwagon in 1/12 th scale.  From there many scale buildings and other wagons.

It wasn’t until I bought a book on miniature furniture that I started building miniature furniture in 1/12 scale.

My latest project a Buddy of mine challenged me to build a roll to desk. Well being my profession is woodworking,  I decided to bully the desk in 1/4 scale and do all the jointery as a full-size one wold be if I built a full-size desk.

Been building a 1/8 th scale stage coach of and on for many years.  That’s my most current project.

Long winded here so I’ll stop.  Happy to find this forum/website to learn more about miniature furniture and miniatures in general.

Welcome!   It sounds like you've been doing some fascinating projects.  We love to see pictures of anything you'd like to share!

People come to miniatures from all different backgrounds.   It's interesting to follow the work of people who come in via "real life scale" woodworking because they tend to have a robust set of techniques on which to draw.   Looking forward to seeing your work and learning new things from you!

Welcome KGStakes to the Fine Miniatures Forum.... I saw your post on the roll top desk; it is beautiful accomplishment.

Funny, you are a life size woodworker, For the past 5 years (skipping 2020) I attended a class each year at Marc Adams School of Woodworking to augment my miniature skills.

I hope you continue your journey in fine model making....