Newbie in Upstate NY

jackofalltrades

I'm a retired model maker with a small home shop. 

My areas of interest include small boats, trains, machines, furniture and any interesting subject.   I am just beginning to explore model horse drawn vehicles.

My models are designed using Rhinoceros 5 solid modeling software with Flamingo rendering software and Rhinocam 2 CAM software.   I work mainly in metal, wood and plastic using both manual and digital methods and occasionally farm out laser cutting and 3D printed patterns.  When I need multiple metal parts I often make spin-cast pewter parts.

The attached picture is of a 1:8 scale model of a 1920 Waterman C14 outboard motor.  Parts are cast pewter and brass tube and rod along with a few stock fasteners.   I made about 50 of these.   These models were made before I went digital.

I hope I can learn about areas I lack knowledge in from forum members and am willing to share my experience with others.

Jack

post-479-0-09829400-1415751609_thumb.jpg

Very interesting and wonderful motor of course all the digital talk is foreign to me, but interesting just the same :)

Linda

Linda,

Thanks! I looked at your web site and enjoyed seeing your work!    

Digital is only tools, like drills table saws etc.  not a be all end all!   I still enjoy the manual skills of model making.   Computer design and machining only removes the tedium and drudgery from big projects.

Attached is a picture of my first commercial miniature.  All done by hand, no digital,  100+ copies.

Keep up the good work!

Jack

post-479-0-13348300-1415810049_thumb.jpg

Hi Jack, I looked at close ups of your models on some other sites, neat stuff. I have always like those old motors... Use to have a British Marine on my canoe, it was too big for it. Anyway looking forward to seeing more of your stuff and hope we'll all learn a little something along the way.