Glues - archival quality favourites?

Marie

Hello everyone,

I'm a miniatures newbie and would like to start my first room box on the right foot, so I'd prefer to use archival quality glues.

I'm interested in your recommendations for tried-and-tested glues for use on wood, paper, fabric and mixed media.

Thank you for any advice.

Sorry to take so long to answer but I have been up in Castine at GS.

There are so many glues it is hard to say. What I do know is it is very important that all joints be both mechanical and glued, in other words joint, pined, mortise and tenon, etc.

One thing is to use things that have stood the test of time, I use either hide glue ( the oldest type ever) or Elmer's carpenters glue for woodwork. For hardware I use Devcon 5 minute epoxy. I use very little super glue..... For paper and mounting needlework I have used "yes" glue...... It is a silk fat type glue.

Thank you, this is helpful.  I'm glad you reminded me about pinning for strength.

No problems with the YES paste yellowing over time?  I seem to recall reading on a couple of blogs about that problem, but I'm not sure if was only when used with paper.

One more question, if I may - any suggestions for what glue to use with foam board?

I have never had "Yes" glue yellow any paper, I used it on the wall paper in Twin Manors hallway a photo of which is on the forum.

As to foam board, I have only used it for temporary displays which were thrown out after use.... So I have no history to report. For that sort of thing I use spray contact like Scotch Super 77.

• 2 months later...

We use hot melt hyde glue for certain things at work, especially antique wood that originally used that and which needs repair or restoration, but also for gluing leather, felt, rubberized cloth and sealing wood.

Hyde glue is an old standby in use for hundreds of years, antique furniture, pianos etc all used it, and restorers use it for these items today.