Hello from Niels Jalling

oz9ny

Hi All

My name is Niels Jalling and I live in Frederiksberg, Denmark.
Frederiksberg is a small (85000 residents) municipality sorrounded by Copenhagen (Just like the Vatican and Rome, just we only have a mayor not a pope :-).

I have been making miniatures since around the year 2000. Many years ago while browsing the library I fell over the book "Making Miniature Furniture" by John Davenport and that looked like fun. But first many years later I met the late Barry Hipwell who inspired me to start making miniature furniture. My first piece was a scaled down copy of a chest of drawers from our diningroom with all the bells and whistles like halfblind dovetails and all the joinings like on the real one.  

Next project was a copy of a typical danish secretaire from my parents home, I have looked at that secretaire every day in my childhood. Here is three other version of a secretaire in scale 1:12, 1:24 and 1:48.  The smallest one has all the drawers dovetailed.

P5264378.jpg

That  brings me to my next interest: CNC.  Since I started making miniatures I have sought for tools that makes life easier. For dovetals: dovetail jigs. For lathing: duplicator devices, etc...
If I could draw a profile on my computer then print that out and use as a template for in the duplicator, then why not skip the duplicator and let the computer control the lathe. And the same for the handwheels on my small milling machine.

The large chest is made in a Ann High class at the Guild School. The middle was made using cnc when I came home from Castine and the smallest one was made a few days ago.

P5224374.jpg