Desktop Lathes

WeekendMiniaturist

<Light Bulb> The thought just came to me, that a forum post about the differences between Sherline, Taig / Peatol (in the UK), and Unimat may be a great resource for our group.    

I have never used a Sherline lathe before, but after Guild School 2015 class, I had considered the three lathes as my instructor indicated the indexing fixture to create the tapered index could be used with the three brands of lathes.  

When comparing life size equipment, I was used to reading reviews in magazines, but with the demise of Miniature Collector with the September 2018 issue and I haven't read the other Ashdown Publications (UK) miniature magazine for a while, I hope that people who have used or owned these three lathes will consider including their thoughts, and over time, I will try an harvest some of the information from the review published in The Scale Cabinetmaker and my own experience with Taig and Unimat.

I currently own Unimat DB-200 and a Taig Micro Lathe II and will work on my thoughts about these two machines and my observations of Sherline.

Bill, except for a space issue for the workbench, it would be most informative if you could give us hints why Sherline won the space on your desktop, when you have time....  I have great respect for the company and am planning to tour the factory in October 2018 and visit the Internet Craftsman museum and hopefully will figure out how to post some pictures for the forum.

Maybe  this posting is going to be a 'very contensious issue', as everybody has a differing opinion about what they have bought, or, what they like to use.

Remember that opinions are --------like ar$eholes, ------- everybody has one.  ?