Wood advice

Kathe

Hi all, 

I am a beginner...wanting to find a good wood to carve details into. Basswood isn’t very user friendly. Chips and crumbles a lot. However since I am a beginner I don’t want to ruin expensive wood. Is there an affordable alternative to bass/limewood? Thank you!

How sharp are your carving tools?  Chips and crumbles could be a tool issue, not a wood issue... Once, I took a set of brand new micro mark mini lathe chisels to a Guild School class, and my instructor told me that my tools had to be sharpened... SAY WHAT???!!  And while I didn't tell him in person, I will put in writing now.  He was right!

I like basswood, if I am painting, and I like Cherry if I am staining.  I've never spent the cash to get steamed pearwood... I can be really frugal under the right circumstances.  I would also carve walnut or butternut depending on the project. 

http://www.hearnehardwoods.com/hardwoods/flitch_hardwoods/all_flitches_hardwood.html... Hearne Hardwoods advertises in the woodworking magazines.

I find magazines to be a good resource... you can go to your local bookstore or library and look at the ads in the carving magazines.

Hmmm... do you have the equipment to resaw your wood and then plane it to the thickness you need for your project?  or access to bandsaw and a planer?  A google search will work for Steamed pear on the East Coast.   Hearne Hardwoods is an example of what I found online.  As a miniaturist you may want a specific grain, and while pearwood should be without grain, in theory, depending on how the wood was cut it may not be appropriate for your project.  Subsequently paying $26 for a board and then $20 to ship it to me, and the grain is too large, is a problem... and that is the reason I don't have any pearwood on my shelf...  

The best way for a new person to purchase wood, is in person... so go to a local hardwood supplier... and ask if they have inventory and pick it out in person.