Hello from Portland and--help?

hans_co

Hi folks,

I am a sometime artist/sculptor who has finally realized that he's always wanted to be making miniatures. This is a craft I am new at and want to learn well. However, scouring the web, I've found it difficult to find good "beginner" or tutorial info. I've come across the Scale Cabinetmaker, and it seems like a great resource, however the issues are not cheap ($6 per digital issue) and there doesn't seem to be an "introduction" issue--I can't afford to spend nearly $500 on the whole back catalog!

What I'm looking for is a book or magazine or blog that focuses on beginners, with the assumption that we don't have a whole workshop. The first few tools to get, the first few projects to undertake, etc. I am interested in making buildings and scenes--interiors as well as exteriors, so that would include miniature furniture making, as well as figures (though I recognize that's a different art and I'm going to be learning woodcarving as well).

Any resources you can point me to that are good for the beginner? Any particular issues of The Scale Cabinetmaker? I did read their index and one of their issues dedicates 7 pages to an introduction of tools, so I'll pick that issue up. I've checked in the resources part of this forum and nothing else really fits the bill.

Thank you for your time and patience!

Welcome and we are glad to have you.

In answer to your questions… well it is basically what this forum is suppose to be all about. The TSC is great and I knew Jim and Helen Dorrset the creators of it. It is expensive to buy at it all and I can't think of any single issue. Didn't they offer a sample project on their web site? As for a book, check out the book section, I think it mentions Harry Smith's book on furniture.

If you don't see what you are looking for just start a topic and ask…. someone surely will have the answer.

Again Welcome and hope to see some of your questions.

Hans,