Can I ALTER a router bit for additional clearance?

WeekendMiniaturist

I'm cutting out Queen Anne Legs. 

My router bit is:  https://freudtools.com/products/04-096

The problem is it is on 1/4" length of the 1/16" and I need just a little more clearance...can I put this in my taig lathe and give myself 1/8" more clearance on the length?  Has any altered a commercial router bit?  I have limited experience in sharpening and have made my own profile for 1/8" square tool bits for my taig lathe.

Obviously the risk is that I could break the bit, and I've already broke a whiteside 5/16" length bit this weekend...  I was a little too aggressive in my plunge rate and chips were too big- resulting in heat + no clearance - broken bit.

Thanks -

The spec sheet says it's a carbide bit.   It's going to be harder than any cutting tools you have unless you have diamond-coated bits.   I believe that carbide (i.e., tungsten carbide) is best machined when it's soft/green.

I switched to a 1/8" bit, which provides a through cut...  but it isn't cutting like I want.  I will order a replacement whiteside bit tomorrow, (SC01) so should have it by the weekend.   I'm back to the shop in a little bit, will see if I can get two more pairs of legs cut out without killing the Freud 1/16" bit.  I get 5/16" cutting length on the whiteside bit.

If this doesn't work it is back to the drawing board and I'll set it up to pin route with my dremel and pin routing base that I purchased at Guild School.  

These inlay router bits are easily broken!

Thanks  for the assistance!

I use the Dremel 9902 bit for pinrouting. Because the shank is also 1/8" you can use it for deeper cuts too.