Hello from Portland, Oregon!

Mistyrious1111

My name is Misty and I've been fascinated with miniatures since I was little but never got a dollhouse. A year ago I started collecting miniatures and wondered if I could make my own since so expensive. I started with a banana, then an apple, an orange and soon I had a whole fruit basket! I gave up working with clay awhile and started making miniature vanity sets. My eyes are going bad so after selling all I had made I took a break.

The past few weeks I've been trying to make those realistic mini food dishes and mini clay babies and animals. I'm getting real frustrated because having a hard time getting things like lettuce and sandwich bread looking realistic. Same with babies. Being self taught is slow going and trying my patience! 

Came here hoping to find a few tips and to marvel looking at miniatures at how creative and talented you miniaturists are!

10290635_10152853334290744_1911669484005820828_n.jpg

downloadfile-37.jpeg

picsart_1372103526815-1.jpg

I loved that period of my mini making where I was making perfume bottles from beads... and I'm still purchasing beads on occasion.... don't need any, but guilty of still reviewing the bead selection a few times a year...they are just so pretty!

I'm no help with the clay food and babies... I place both of these in the BUY category.  I cannot recall a book for making babies in scale miniatures... ah... a late night test for my brain... I will have to scan the library and see if I have a suggestion for you.  But...we have a couple of Guild Artisan members that are teaching sculpting in 2017... Jeannie Rullie has an incredible sculpting class at the Guild Show in September, and Daniela is teaching a class at the Chicago International...Daniela sculpts sweet children!  I admire both of these artist creations.