Introductions

LarryMartin

I am an amateur woodworker, furniture maker, 15 years experience since retiring, 77 years old, living about 40 miles northwest of Chicago. I’m looking to downsize from full size furniture to miniatures during the winter months when we are snowbirds. I’m planning to make miniatures of all of the furniture I’ve made over the years for my daughters and friends.

I like the proportions of 1:12 except for the resulting thinness of pieces that make the miniatures look like they come from Hobby Lobby or other mass craft stores. I’m planning on at least doubling the thickness of sides and tops. 

1)Is that a grievous sin? 

I’m also going to use butt joints and relying on glue for the joinery, or 

2) should I be making actual mortise and tenon or dovetail joinery?

I do not yet have a snowbird workshop but will be bringing my hand tools and accessories with me. I plan to acquire some machinery when in Florida. Almost for sure I will be getting Craig’s List used machinery to use with various sleds and jigs for safely cutting small parts — or 

3) should I resolve to use only small scale equipment like Proxxon? 

4) What are the other brand names for good craft machinery? 

5) What are the names of the better suppliers of craft machinery and craft supplies like miniature hinges and hardware?

6) What other questions should I be considering?

Thanks very much for your help.